Professional Nursing Awards

The Association is proud to celebrate excellence in registered nursing through the 2017 Professional Nursing Awards. This year we’ve expanded the awards to celebrate registered nurses more broadly. 

The winners will be recognized at the Celebrating Excellence Cocktail Reception on October 25, 2017.

2017 Award Winners 

Congratulations to the 2017 Professional Nursing Award winners. These nurses and teams have demonstrated excellence and innovation in their practice and been recognized by their peers for this accomplishment.

Awards of Excellence: Nursing Administration

This award is presented to registered nurses who exemplify transformational leadership qualities and promote a culture of innovation and practice excellence. 

Henni Dyck

Award of Excellence: Nursing Education

This award is presented to registered nurses who practice as a nurse educator in a college/university or clinical setting and demonstrate teaching excellence by encouraging critical thinking and innovation. 

Shirley Bezditny
Nicole Harder
Karen Bodnaryk

Emerging Leader Award

This award is presented to registered nurses in clinical practice who entered the profession as an RN within the past five years, demonstrates excellence in his/her practice area, outstanding communication and promising leadership qualities. 

Stephanie Betker 

Legacy Award 

This award is presented to registered nurses with more than 25 years of service who have made significant contributions to the nursing profession. 

Barbara Klassen 
Anne Russell

Outstanding Nursing Unit, Program or Interprofessional Team Award

This award is presented to unit, program or interprofessional team that has made a significant and meaningful difference to the health and well-being of a client population in a direct care, education, administrative or research setting. 

Children's Hospital Emergency Department
NorWest Co-op Collaborative Interprofessional Team
Western Manitoba Cancer Center