Professional Nursing Awards

The winners of the Professional Nursing Awards were recognized at our Virtual Celebration of Excellence on December 17th.

Event Partners and Award Winners

Manitoba Midwives Association of Manitoba

The Tracey Novoselnik Midwifery Award of Excellence

Winner: Darlene Birch

Manitoba Gerontological Nursing Association

Nursing Distinction Award - Research

Winner: Barbara Tallman

Nursing Distinction Award - Administration

Winner: Shannon Chartrand

Intermediate Intensive Care Unit ECCO Program 

First nurses to complete the program:

De Anna Duguid
Jennifer Noone
Suzanne Olivier
Jeralynn Gravdador

Association of Regulated Nurses of Manitoba
2020 Professional Nursing Award Winners 

Congratulations to the 2020 Professional Nursing Award winners. These nurses and teams have demonstrated excellence and innovation in their practice and been recognized by their peers for this accomplishment. 

Award of Excellence - Nursing Administration

This award is presented to registered nurses who exemplify transformational leadership qualities and promote a culture of innovation and practice excellence. 

Winner: Dr. Netha Dyck

Award of Excellence - Nursing Education

This award is presented to registered nurses who practice as a nurse educator in a college/university or clinical setting and demonstrate teaching excellence by encouraging critical thinking and innovation. 

Danielle Yaffe
Lissa Currie 

Award of Excellence – Nursing Research

This award is presented to registered nurses who promote the value of nursing and enhance the body of knowledge related to the art and/or science of nursing. 

Dr. Annette Schultz
Dr. Kellie Thiessen

Emerging Leader Award

This award is presented to registered nurses in clinical practice who entered the profession as an RN within the past five years, demonstrates excellence in his/her practice area, outstanding communication and promising leadership qualities. 

Winner: Kayla Vanderwees

Advocacy Award

This award is presented to nurses who have a proven ability as a change agent who advocates for the improvement of health outcomes and a decrease of health inequities for people living in Manitoba.

Winner: Tracy Scott

Legacy Award

This award is presented to nurses with more than 25 years of service who have made significant contributions to the nursing profession.

Winner: Dr. Lorraine Avery

Outstanding Nursing Unit, Program or Interprofessional Team Award 

This award is presented to a unit, program or interprofessional team that has made a significant and meaningful difference to the health and well-being of a client population in a direct care, education, administrative or research setting. 

Manitoba Centre for Nursing and Health Research
St. Boniface Hospital Cardiac Unit
University of Manitoba Simulation Team